NEWS
Saturday August 19 2017
Liveblog: Serie A Saturday

Join us for all the build-up, action and post-match comments from the opening day of the Serie A season with Juventus-Cagliari and Verona-Napoli.

If you are on a mobile device or tablet, then follow the Liveblog HERE.

The campaign officially kicks off in Turin at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT) with champions Juventus seeking a seventh consecutive Scudetto, but damaged by big name departures over the summer.

They host a Cagliari side who were known for their free-scoring and shaky defending last term.

At 19.45 UK time (18.45 GMT), newly-promoted Hellas Verona welcome Napoli, who are more optimistic than they have been in decades about a genuine title push.

There is a bitter rivalry between these clubs, which makes it a passionate atmosphere at the Bentegodi, but Verona Coach Fabio Pecchia was at Napoli as both player and assistant manager to Rafa Benitez.

Dries Mertens was almost Capocannoniere last season and will think he’s got a good chance of the crown now he’s a bona fide centre-forward.

Live Blog Serie A Saturday