Claudio Marchisio insists that Juventus should have been awarded a penalty before Napoli went on to win the Coppa Italia.
The Azzurri lifted the trophy last night with a 2-0 win, but the midfielder has underlined that he was caught by Salvatore Aronica in a controversial incident which the referee ignored.
“It was a clear penalty,” the Italian explained after the final whistle. “Then they got their penalty and that, on the other hand, changed the game.”
Napoli edged the first half, but they struck both goals in the second period just when it seemed that the Old Lady were pushing for their own goal.
“We got off to a bit of a sluggish start,” the 26-year-old noted. “It’s a real shame as we wanted to end this unbelievable season in the perfect way.
“We’ve developed and gained confidence on a game by game basis,” added Marchisio given the club’s Scudetto success. “Everyone should be congratulated for this.”
Marchisio will now be given the week off before he meets up with his Italian international colleagues on Saturday.
Think you know your Italian football? Share your knowledge, tips and comments to win cash prizes in OLBG's tipster competition - £11,000 to be won monthly!