NEWS
Saturday June 29 2013
Refs for Confederations deciders

Bjorn Kuipers will officiate the Confederations Cup Final Brazil-Spain, while Djamel Haimoudi is the referee for Uruguay-Italy.

FIFA announced the officials designated to the last games in the tournament, which concludes on Sunday.

Dutchman Kuipers is given the honour of taking control for the Final in Rio de Janeiro, where hosts Brazil face Spain.

The match kicks off at the Maracana at 23.00 UK time (22.00 GMT, 19.00 local).

It’s his second major Final of the season, as Kuipers also held the whistle for the Europa League Final between Chelsea and Benfica.

Italy play Uruguay for third place in Salvador on Sunday at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT, 13.00 local).

The referee will be 42-year-old Algerian Haimoudi, who officiated Spain’s 10-0 victory over Tahiti in the group stage.

Haimoudi was given the Referee of the Year award by Africa’s football governing body CAF in December 2012.

He also officiated the Africa Cup of Nations Final between Nigeria and Burkina Faso earlier this year.

Think you know your Italian football? Share your knowledge, tips and comments to win cash prizes in OLBG's tipster competition - £11,000 to be won monthly!

FOOTBALL ITALIA RELATED NEWS

TODAY'S FRONT PAGES