Tuesday October 29 2013
Juventus duo on Ballon d’Or lists

Juventus playmaker Andrea Pirlo and boss Antonio Conte are on the shortlists for the 2013 FIFA Golden Ball awards.

Pirlo is the only Italian included on the 23-man shortlist in the World Player of the Year category after winning his second consecutive Scudetto with the Old Lady.

Conte, meanwhile, is one of 10 tacticians who are in the running to be named as the 2013 FIFA World Coach of the Year.

Italian tactician Carlo Ancelotti, now at Real Madrid, and Napoli boss Rafael Benitez have also been short-listed.

The head Coaches and captains of national sides, as well as journalists selected by France Football magazine, will now vote for the winner.

The top three for each award will be unveiled at the start of December before the names of the winners will be announced on January 13, 2014.

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013:

Gareth Bale (Wales), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Franck Ribéry (France), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), Thiago Silva (Brazil), Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire), Robin Van Persie (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain).

World Coach of the Year 2013:

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain FC/Real Madrid CF), Rafael Benítez (Spain/Chelsea FC/SSC Napoli), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus), Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC former Coach), Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern München former Coach), Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/Chelsea FC), Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil/Brazil national team), Arsène Wenger (France/Arsenal FC).

Follow the stars and start making more informed bets with StrataBet.
Sign Up for FREE now!