Monday December 9 2013
Ballon d’Or top threes

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Franck Ribery will battle it out for the 2013 Golden Ball, while the shortlist for the top three bosses has also been announced.

The initial 23-man list, which included Juventus’ Andrea Pirlo, was announced in late October. FIFA have now confirmed the podium, even if the winner won’t be announced until January.

Real Madrid’s Ronaldo is seen as the favourite to succeed Barcelona’s Messi, with France and Bayern Munich’s Ribery also in the frame.

Meanwhile, Juventus boss Antonio Conte has failed to get a podium finish with regards to the Coach of the Year award.

That honour will be given to former Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson, ex-Bayern tactician Jupp Heynckes or Borussia Dortmund's Jurgen Klopp.