NEWS
Sunday June 15 2014
Benzema: 'No need for technology'

Karim Benzema was “very happy and proud” to bag a brace for France, but said he didn’t need goal-line technology.

The Real Madrid striker thought he had netted a hat-trick in the 3-0 World Cup victory over Honduras, but goal-line technology awarded the second strike as an own goal.

This is because the first shot that cannoned off the post did not cross the line, but the goalkeeper accidentally prodded it over when trying to save.

“On the second goal, the ball hit the post and the goalkeeper, but I immediately saw it was in,” declared Benzema to journalists.

“I’m very happy and very proud. A hat-trick would’ve been great, but the important thing is that the team wins.

“Some judge me on the number of goals I score, but the way I see it I have many different ways of contributing.

“I had it in my mind to play a good game and win while playing my football without pressure. That’s what we all did tonight.”

Think you know your Italian football? Share your knowledge, tips and comments to win cash prizes in OLBG's tipster competition - £11,000 to be won monthly!

FOOTBALL ITALIA RELATED NEWS

TODAY'S FRONT PAGES