NEWS
Saturday August 20 2016
Serie A Previews: Back with a bang!

The 2016-17 Serie A season kicks off today with Roma hosting Udinese and the classic Juventus-Fiorentina grudge match.

Click here for all the individual match previews for Week 1.

Or if you want to bone up on the clubs going into the campaign, then check out our Serie A guide with individual team analysis.

The action begins today at the Stadio Olimpico at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT) with Roma v Udinese.

Last year the Friulani famously caused a huge upset in the opening round, beating the champions in Turin, so could there be another surprise for Luciano Spalletti?

At 19.45 UK time (18.45 GMT) it’s one of the biggest fixtures in the Serie A calendar, as rivals Juventus and Fiorentina go head to head.

Gonzalo Higuain is expected to start on the bench, while there are fitness concerns for Miralem Pjanic and Borja Valero, but the quality on show from both teams is beyond doubt.

On Sunday the 17.00 UK time kick-off is another tasty clash between Milan and Torino, as Sinisa Mihajlovic returns to face the club that sacked him in April.

All the other Week 1 fixtures are at 19.45 UK time, including Napoli’s visit to newly-promoted Pescara, Frank de Boer’s competitive debut for Inter at Chievo and Crotone’s first ever Serie A match.

Sampdoria Coach Marco Giampaolo visits his former club Empoli, now run by his ex-assistant manager Giovanni Martusciello.

Lazio visit Gian Piero Gasperini’s new-look Atalanta and Sassuolo aim to continue their Europa League form in Italy against Palermo.

Follow the stars and start making more informed bets with StrataBet.
Sign Up for FREE now!