NEWS
Tuesday January 17 2012
Bologna: It wasn’t a penalty!

Bologna Coach Stefano Pioli has questioned the award of the penalty that allowed Napoli to rescue a point at the Stadio San Paolo.

The Rossoblu left Naples with a credible 1-1 draw in Serie A last night, but the tactician insists Edinson Cavani shouldn’t have been given the opportunity to equalise from the spot.

“The rules are clear,” Pioli told Sky Sport Italia after Diego Perez was penalised for handling in the penalty area.

“Hand ball in the box must be intentional and I don’t think that the player purposely made contact with the ball.”

Bologna, now 15th in Serie A with 19 points, took the lead last night thanks to a goal from former Italian Under-21 international Robert Acquafresca.

“We put in an excellent display,” Pioli continued. “It’s not easy to come to Napoli and face an opponent which is so strong.

“The team stayed really compact. We suffered Napoli’s attacks, but we did well to counter. Unfortunately the penalty penalised us…”

Think you know your Italian football? Share your knowledge, tips and comments to win cash prizes in OLBG's tipster competition - £5,000 monthly.

FOOTBALL ITALIA RELATED NEWS

TODAY'S FRONT PAGES