Andreas Granqvist has praised Italy’s referees as “the best in the world” after they ruled his handling offence in Juventus-Genoa was not a penalty.
The defender’s stoppage-time intervention caused huge controversy, but this week the AIA (Referees’ Association) confirmed it was not a penalty  because the ball ricocheted off his foot on to his arm, so couldn’t be considered deliberate.
“I was pleased to hear the ruling. It wasn’t a penalty,” Granqvist told the official Genoa website.
“It was a ricochet and therefore an involuntary gesture after it came off my leg. Italian referees are the best in the world. Mistakes can happen, but these officials are appreciated all over the world.”