Aurelio Andreazzoli’s Roma debut ended in a 3-1 defeat to Sampdoria  and the Coach confirmed Pablo Daniel Osvaldo should not have taken that penalty.
The Coach took over from Zdenek Zeman last weekend and changed to a 3-5-2 system with Daniele De Rossi and Maarten Stekelenburg back in the starting XI, but Erik Lamela’s goal was ruled offside and Osvaldo horribly missed a penalty.
“Lamela’s goal seemed alright to me, while we thought it was a penalty for a handball on Miralem Pjanic’s shot, but instead replays show the officials were right on that one,” said Andreazzoli.
“Incidents always decide games, but the football moves so fast that it is understandable to make a mistake.”
Roma had the chance to draw level with a spot-kick, but Osvaldo took it rather than Francesco Totti and passed the ball meekly into Sergio Romero’s hands.
“Who is the designated penalty taker? For the last 20 years it has been Totti, so I’d assume him… I cannot tell you why Osvaldo took the penalty. I haven’t had a chance to ask him. Perhaps they had discussed it between themselves, I don’t know.
“In any case, the whole match doesn’t boil down to this one incident. We played very well and I am satisfied with the performance, as the lads did everything I asked of them.
“We worked on self-esteem this week, as our objective was to give the lads their confidence back. Lamela was wide right to give us something more down that side of the pitch and I asked him for a sacrifice.
“It was a good performance in terms of quality, but unfortunately we play only for the result and it didn’t go our way.”
Think you know your Italian football? Share your knowledge, tips and comments to win cash prizes in OLBG's tipster competition  - £11,000 to be won monthly!