Wednesday July 18 2018
Epidemic of calcio bankruptcies

Since Fiorentina went bankrupt in 2002, 153 Italian clubs have had to be refounded, merged with other clubs, or disappeared altogether.

This week saw Bari and Cesena fail to register for Serie B, and both clubs will be declared bankrupt and begin again in Serie D, providing someone can be found to take on the club.

Under Italian rules, control of the sporting entity passes to the mayor of the city in question, who can then appoint a successor.

In 2002 Fiorentina went bankrupt and had to start again as Florentia Viola in Serie C2 under Diego Della Valle’s ownership.

Eventually the club bought back the ACF Fiorentina name and the iconic shirt design, but since their collapse La Repubblica reports 153 Italian clubs have suffered the same fate.

On average eight clubs go bust per year, with Akragas, Modena, Mestre, Reggiana, Andria and Vicenza suffering that fate in recent months.

Vicenza have merged with Bassano Virtus, while Modena Football Club 2018 will play in Serie D next season.

The epidemic of bankruptcies is far from over though, with Cuneo, Matera, Pro Piacenza and Avellino all at risk.

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports for just £9.99 per month including live LaLiga, Eredivisie, Scottish Cup Football and more. Visit: