NEWS
Saturday August 18 2018
Liveblog: Chievo-Juve, Lazio-Napoli

Join us for all the build-up and action to today’s opening Serie A games, as Cristiano Ronaldo debuts in Chievo-Juventus and there’s an exciting Lazio-Napoli.

If you are on a mobile device or tablet, then follow the Liveblog HERE.

The 2018-19 season finally kicks off in the Peninsula with two fascinating fixtures this evening.

Reigning champions Juventus start us off at the Stadio Bentegodi against Chievo, but all eyes will be on their new signing Cristiano Ronaldo.

It is the Ballon d’Or winner’s Serie A debut after his transfer from Real Madrid cost over €110m.

That match begins in Verona at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT).

Later tonight at 19.30 UK time (18.30 GMT), the Stadio Olimpico in Rome plays hosts to Lazio-Napoli, an immediate showdown for European ambitions and maybe more.

It is Carlo Ancelotti’s return to Italian football after nine years lifting silverware in England, France, Spain and Germany, as he takes over from Maurizio Sarri on the Partenopei bench.

Lazio narrowly missed out on a Champions League spot last season and will be determined to start on the right foot.