Friday September 7 2018
Serie B returns to 22?

CONI could decide to return Serie B to being a 22 team division this evening - despite the fact two rounds of the season have already been played with 19.

Avellino, Bari, and Cesena failed to register for the new season, and rather than bringing in other teams the FIGC commissioner Roberto Fabbricini accepted a request from the Lega Serie B and ruled the season could start with 19.

The fixtures were announced, with one side getting a rest week in each round, and the season has been underway for two weeks.

However, today CONI’s collegio di garanzia will meet, and Corriere della Sera believes they will overturn Fabbricini’s reform.

The Olympic association is likely to return the division to 22 teams, but the saga won’t end there as six sides all believe they should be in Serie B.

Catania, Virtus Entella, Novara, Pro Vercelli, Siena and Ternana are all appealing to be let into the second division, with Catania suing Fabbricini for abuse of office.

However, if they proceed with the case they risk breaking the FIGC’s arbitration clause.

As for the fixtures, the Lega B does have a plan if CONI rules that three teams should be admitted - the three ‘new’ teams will play between themselves and against the teams which had rest weeks, then there will be a normal calendar from Week 4.

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports.