Wednesday September 12 2018
‘Seven promotions to Serie B!’

The Serie B chaos is far from over, as the President of the Lega Pro says they’ll ask for seven teams to be promoted this year.

Avellino, Bari and Cesena all failed to register for the second division this season, and FIGC commissioner Roberto Fabbricini controversially passed a reform allowing the league to start with 19 teams instead of 22.

In the current setup, one team gets a rest week in each round as there are an uneven number of teams in Serie B.

CONI threw out an appeal for it to be returned to 22, but the clubs seeking admission have already announced an appeal and now there will also be an appeal for seven teams to go up from Serie C.

“Last night we wrote to the commissioner of the FIGC,” Gabriele Gravina, head of the Lega Pro, told reporters.

“After a unanimous decision at the assembly, we have officially asked for seven promotions to Serie B starting from the 2018-19 season.”

Currently four teams go up from Serie C, the winners of each of the three regional leagues and one team through an arduous play-off system.

Adding another three teams would return Serie B to 22 teams, assuming the regulation four go down to Serie C.

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports.