Sunday December 2 2018
Liveblog: Euro 2020 Qualifying Draw

The draw for the Euro 2020 qualifiers will be held today in Dublin and Italy risk ending up in the same group as Germany.

The ceremony begins in Dublin at 11.00 GMT and we’ll be covering it on this Liveblog.

If you are on a mobile device or tablet, then follow the Liveblog HERE.

Roberto Mancini’s Azzurri are in Pot 1 for the draw, so are top seeds along with Belgium, Croatia, France, Poland and Spain.

There are 10 groups, the top two from each group qualify automatically to the European Championship.

The four sides through to the Nations League – England, the Netherlands, Portugal and Switzerland – are guaranteed at least a play-off spot.

So are Bosnia-Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Macedonia, Kosovo and Belarus, again due to their Nations League performances.

Qualifying runs from March 21 2019 to November 19 2019, with the play-offs in March 2020.

The Euro 2020 tournament itself runs from June 12-July 12, with the draw on December 1 2019.

UEFA is aiming to “allow all 12 Euro 2020 host teams a chance of qualifying” - so no more than two nations staging games can be in the same group.

Those teams are Italy, England, Scotland, the Republic of Ireland, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Azerbaijan, Denmark, Hungary, Romania and Russia.

For political reasons, Spain and Gibraltar will be kept apart, while Kosovo cannot be in a group with Serbia or Bosnia-Herzegovina.

A maximum of two countries at risk of severe winters can be in one group - Belarus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Russia and Ukraine.

Nations with an asterisk have already secured at least a Euro 2020 play-off spot.

UEFA Nations League pot: Switzerland*, Portugal*, Netherlands*, England*

Pot One: Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Poland

Pot Two: Germany, Iceland, Bosnia-Herzegovina*, Ukraine*, Denmark*, Sweden*, Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic

Pot Three: Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland*, Norway*, Serbia*, Finland*, Bulgaria, Israel

Pot Four: Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Georgia*

Pot Five: Macedonia*, Kosovo*, Belarus*, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar, Faroe Islands

Pot Six: Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports and get your first month free. £5.99 thereafter until September with promo code: ITALIA