NEWS
Friday January 11 2019
Genoa-Milan reverts to 9pm?

The Serie A match between Genoa and Milan on January 21 is facing calls to be played at 21:00 CET (20:00 GMT) again.

It was confirmed on Thursday that the Marassi fixture would be played at the earlier time of 15:00 CET (14:00 GMT) for reasons of public safety.

Sport Mediaset reports the City of Genoa has written to Lega Serie A, requesting that the game kicks off later.

Furthermore, Rossoblu fans belonging to the Gradinata Nord said in a statement: “We won’t suffer in silence.

“The tifos that routinely colour the stadium won’t be displayed and the space we occupy every game will be left deserted.

“We ask the club to protect the interests of all their fans, season-ticket holders and non-ticket holders with the same commitment and punctuality that they sell their best players every transfer window.

“Genoa fans deserve respect, as does the city of Genoa.”

The change was orchestrated by the Observatory of Sports Events for the Minister of the Interior, Matteo Salvini.

Salvini wanted the match to be played ‘during the day’ due to the ‘historical’ rivalry between Genoa and Milan fans.

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports and get your first month free. £5.99 thereafter until September with promo code: ITALIA https://subscribe.premiersports.tv/