Monday February 4 2019
Gravina: Ballon d'Or winners for Italy!

FIGC chief Gabriele Gravina has invited Fabio Cannavaro, Paolo Rossi, Roberto Baggio and Gianni Rivera to take up positions within the Italy set-up.

Gravina had already put Gianluca Vialli forward as the head of a new-look, Club Italia delegation, and the President called on the Azzurri’s four Ballon d’Or winners to join forces with the former Sampdoria sriker.

“Vialli as head of delegation? It’s part of an idea we have planned for Club Italia,” he told reporters.

“It was my intuition. We met and talked. I’m waiting for an answer, but there’s no deadline, even if the time we have together will be relatively short.

“I also thought about involving our four Ballon d’Or winners to represent the importance of our football.

“I thank Serie A clubs for their spirit of participation and collaboration.”

Gravina was then asked about the possibility of reserve teams being implemented during his mandate.

“They must help enhance the talent in our national teams and a meeting will be held in Turin on March 5 to talk about the relaunch of this project.”

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports for just £9.99 per month including live LaLiga, Eredivisie, Scottish Cup Football and more. Visit: