Tuesday September 17 2019
Line-ups: Napoli v Liverpool

Napoli beat Liverpool here last season and want to repeat the trick with Dries Mertens, Lorenzo Insigne and Chucky Lozano against Mohamed Salah and Roberto Firmino.

It kicks off at the Stadio San Paolo at 20.00 UK time (19.00 GMT).

You can follow all the build-up and action as it happens from this game and Inter-Slavia Prague on the LIVEBLOG.

The Partenopei are once again in the same Champions League group as Liverpool and people forget just how close they got to knocking out the eventual winners last season.

Both teams won the home fixture 1-0, with only a last-gasp Alisson Becker save on Arkadiusz Milik preventing elimination at Anfield, Liverpool eventually going through on goal difference.

Alisson is out injured for this evening’s game, while Milik is on the bench.

Lorenzo Insigne returns from a muscular problem for a wide left role with Dries Mertens joined by Mexico international Hirving ‘Chucky’ Lozano.

Liverpool arrive top of the Premier League table, but with a few injury concerns, as Divock Origi is out with an ankle injury and left-back Andy Robertson is carrying a knock, but has been passed fit to start.

Perhaps the biggest loss is in goal, where former Roma star Alisson has been ruled out for several weeks by injury, with Naby Keita also on the treatment table.

Mohamed Salah and Roberto Firmino are the star names, with Sadio Mane completing the trident attack.

Trent Alexander-Arnold gets the nod rather than Joe Gomez at right-back.

Last season’s Champions League Player of the Tournament Virgil van Dijk marshals the four-man defence.

The referee is German Felix Brych, with Bastian Dankert in the VAR booth.

Napoli: Meret; Di Lorenzo, Manolas, Koulibaly, Mario Rui; Callejon, Allan, Fabian Ruiz, Insigne; Mertens, Lozano

Napoli bench: Ospina, Llorente, Elmas, Maksimovic, Zielinski, Ghoulam, Milik

Liverpool: Adrian; Alexander-Arnold, Matip, Van Dijk, Robertson; Henderson, Fabinho, Milner; Salah, Firmino, Mane

Liverpool bench: Kelleher, Wijnaldum, Lovren, Gomez, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Lallana, Shaqiri

Ref: Brych (GER)