Bologna had penalty appeals in the final minutes of their 2-1 defeat to Juventus, but the IFAB rules show it was not a spot-kick.
The incident occurred in stoppages and there was a ‘silent check’ in the VAR booth, alerting the referee he could continue the game.
Fans were furious, but a look at the 2019-20 IFAB Laws of the Game shows why De Ligt’s intervention did not warrant a spot-kick.
The Juve defender slipped as he went to clear a cross, it bounced off his foot and on to the elbow that was placed behind him.
This is not a penalty for three different reasons:
The following will not usually be a free kick:
The ball touches a player’s hand/arm directly from their own head/body/foot or the head/body/foot of another player who is close/near
The ball touches a player’s hand/arm which is close to their body and has not made their body unnaturally bigger
If a player is falling and the ball touches their hand/arm when it is between their body and the ground to support the body (but not extended to make the body bigger)
Juve just about hang on to seal a 2-1 win against Bologna!— Premier Sports (@PremierSportsTV) October 19, 2019
The away team hit the bar AND forced a great save from Gigi Buffon at the death
Should Bologna also have had a penalty for this De Ligt hand ball, though? pic.twitter.com/tIf14A7twU
Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports for just £11.99 per month including live LaLiga, Eredivisie, Scottish Cup Football and more. Visit: https://subscribe.premiersports.tv/