Wednesday November 27 2019
Joao Felix wins Golden Boy Award

Atletico Madrid and Portugal starlet Joao Felix has won the Golden Boy 2019 Award for the best Under-21 player in European football.

He was a landslide winner with 332 points, followed by England’s Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund, 175 points) and Bayer Leverkusen’s German talent Kai Haverts (75 points).

Out of 40 votes, 25 put Joao Felix in first place.

The trophy is organised by Italian newspaper Tuttosport and decided by 40 high-profile writers from around the continent.

Previous winners include Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Mario Balotelli, Isco, Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling, Kylian Mbappé and Matthijs de Ligt, but Joao Felix has already completed a transfer worth €126m to Atletico Madrid.

“Thank you to everyone at Tuttosport for the Golden Boy 2019 Award, I am very proud,” he said in a video message.

“This is the second time that an Atletico Madrid player has won this trophy and I am very happy. Thank you also to Benfica, in particular my coach Bruno Lage for all he did for me, and my family for always staying by my side.”

The Best Italian Player Under-21 award went to Milan goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma, who finished eighth in the overall charts.

Golden Boy Award 2019

Joao Felix (332 points)

Sancho (175)

Havertz (75)

Haaland (74)

De Ligt (71)

Fati (49)

Foden (46)

Donnarumma (37)

Zaniolo (36)

Malen (35)

Mount (29)

Rodrygo (20)

Vinicius Junior (13)

Kean (13)

Lunin (11)

Jovelic (9)

Guendouzi (9)

Davies (1)

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports for just £9.99 per month including live LaLiga, Eredivisie, Scottish Cup Football and more. Visit: