Sunday August 23 2020
Coman wins Champions League for Bayern

Kingsley Coman’s header proved the only goal of the game, as Bayern Munich beat Paris Saint-Germain in the Champions League Final.

Keylor Navas returned from injury, but Marco Verratti still wasn’t fit enough for 90 minutes, so joined ex-Inter striker Mauro Icardi on the bench. Nerazzurri-owned Ivan Perisic was dropped in favour of former Juventus winger Coman.

Manuel Neuer made a tough double save on Neymar, but Robert Lewandowski came even closer when his turn from 12 yards bounced off the upright.

Angel Di Maria blasted over from a promising position, though Bayern were forced into a change by Jerome Boateng’s injury just 25 minutes in.

Lewandowski’s diving header was parried from close range by Navas, but PSG failed to make the most of a defensive error with Mbappé over-complicating matters.

Bayern had penalty appeals on the stroke of half-time, but Thilo Kehrer didn’t hold Coman enough to bring him down in the view of Italian referee Daniele Orsato or VAR Massimiliano Irrati.

The deadlock was finally broken on the hour mark when a Joshua Kimmich cross was floated to the back post for Coman relatively unmarked for a header from six yards. It was a special moment for the former Juventus man, who came up through the PSG academy.

Coman almost added a second from an identical position, this time with a volley, but Thiago Silva was ready to clear off the line.

Manuel Neuer was again decisive with his legs on Marquinhos from six yards, though it was surprisingly one of the only saves he had to make in the second half.

PSG did counter in stoppages with a smart Mbappé through ball for Neymar, but Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting was unable to get the final touch.

PSG 0-1 Bayern Munich

Coman 59 (B)

PSG: Navas; Kehrer, Thiago Silva, Kimpembe, Bernat (Kurzawa 80); Herrera (Draxler 72), Marquinhos, Paredes (Verratti 65); Mbappé, Di Maria (Choupo-Moting 80), Neymar

Bayern Munich: Neuer; Kimmich, Boateng (Sule 25), Alaba, Davies; Goretzka, Thiago Alcantara (Tolisso 86); Gnabry (Coutinho 68), Müller, Coman (Perisic 68); Lewandowski

Ref: Orsato