Monday April 12 2021
Benevento 0-1 Sassuolo: Barba's own goal proves decisive

A Federico Barba own goal gave Sassuolo a 1-0 win away at Benevento, but Andrea Consigli was also decisive with two saves on stoppages.

The Neroverdi saw Mert Muldur, Gian Marco Ferrari, and Manuel Locatelli return to action. They had been excluded from the last two games as a precaution as they had come into contact with COVID cases while on international duty.

Filippo Inzaghi picked Marco Sau and Adolfo Gaich up front.

Sassuolo kept the ball possession and pressed high up the pitch, giving Benevento little options in the middle of the park in the first half.

Maxime Lopez had a good chance after less than ten minutes, but his side-footed effort was wide. The same goes for Locatelli’s attempt from the edge of the box shortly after.

It was an own goal by Barba to break the deadlock just before the half time whistle.

Jeremy Boga sprinted down the left and set up Giacomo Raspadori in the middle of the box, but the Neroverdi striker was anticipated by Barba, who put the ball into his own net.

Consigli palmed a Lapadula shot wide in the second half, but the former Milan striker was off-side.

Boga had one of the best chances of the second half at the end of a well-worked passing move with his powerful shot from point-blank range that hit the crossbar.

Djuricic had another opportunity to double the Neroverdi’s lead when his shot from 16 yards went high above the crossbar before Lapadula forced another save from Consigli at his near post.

Raspadori could have killed the game on a disastrous Iago Falque back pass, the Sassuolo striker went one to one with Montipò, but sent his shot wide.

Consigli secured the three points for Sassuolo with two successive saves ion stoppages, first on Glik and then on Depaoli.

Benevento (5-3-2): Montipó; Depaoli, Tuia (Caprari 65), Glik, Barba, Improta; Hetemaj (Letizia 56), Schiattarella (Viola 65), Ionita; Sau (Lapadula 56), Gaich (Iago Falque 76).

Sassuolo (4-2-3-1): Consigli; Muldur (Toljan 77), Marlon, Ferrari, Kyriakopoulos (Rogerio 77); Magnanelli (Obiang 68), Locatelli; Djuricic (Chiriches 81), Lopez (Harsalin 69), Boga; Raspadori.