Sunday April 18 2021
European Super League: what we know so far

Serie A clubs Juventus, Inter and Milan are among the 12 teams that announced the European Super League on Sunday, but UEFA warned those participating would be banned from any other competition.

The New York Times broke the news of an agreement between some of the richest and most storied European clubs over creating a European Super League.

According to the report, Inter, Juventus and Milan are the Serie A clubs involved, while French and German clubs like PSG, Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund declined the invite to join the project.

The Premier League clubs committed to the Super League are Manchester United, City Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham. Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atlético are those in Spain and Milan, Inter and Juventus are the Serie A clubs involved.

The new competition would see 16 clubs participating as permanent members with four qualifiers from domestic competitions. The clubs would be split into two groups of 10, with the top four teams in each group qualifying for the knockout stages.

According to the report, each of the would-be permanent members of the proposed super league is being promised €350m to sign up.

Lega Serie A held an emergency meeting on Sunday morning to discuss the matter. UEFA then released a joint statement with the leading European football associations warning all measures available will be taken to prevent the Super League from happening.

“As previously announced by FIFA and the six Federations, the clubs concerned will be banned from playing in any other competition at domestic, European or world level, and their players could be denied the opportunity to represent their national teams,” the statement reads.

The English Premier League has also released a statement to stand against the breakaway club competition.

“The Premier League condemns any proposal that attacks the principles of open competition and sporting merit which are at the heart of the domestic and European football pyramid,” the announcement reads.

“Fans of any club in England and across Europe can currently dream that their team may climb to the top and play against the best. We believe that the concept of a European Super League would destroy this dream.”

Il Corriere dello Sport had reported DAZN have been involved in talks too, but the company denied it with an official statement.

Juventus and Real Madrid were the first clubs to announce their agreement to join the Super League.

The 12 clubs that agreed to join the Super League left ECA and Andrea Agnelli stepped down as President.

Inter and Milan have also released official statements confirming the competition's format.

According to Sky Sport Italia, the first-ever Super League season could start as early as August 2021.