Monday June 4 2012
Four Serie A names up for Golden Foot

Juventus duo Andrea Pirlo and Gianluigi Buffon and Milan’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Clarence Seedorf are all nominated for the annual Golden Foot award.

The Golden Foot, which has been running since 2003, is awarded to European-based footballers aged 29 or above, recognising their achievements both on and off the field of play.

The 2012 edition of the award sees Buffon and Pirlo as Italy’s representatives, and alongside Ibra and Seedorf as four Serie A-based men in contention against six other candidates.

Once a player wins the award, they cannot be nominated again. Ryan Giggs won the last edition of the award, which has otherwise been dominated by players based in Italy.

Past Serie A recipients include Francesco Totti, Ronaldinho, Alessandro Del Piero, Andriy Shevchenko, Pavel Nedved and Roberto Baggio.

2012 Golden Foot nominees: Gianluigi Buffon, Iker Casillas, Didier Drogba, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Ricardo Kaka, Andrea Pirlo, Carles Puyol, Clarence Seedorf, Xavi Hernandez