Monday February 17 2014
Milan win Viareggio

Milan have today defeated Belgian side Anderlecht to win the Viareggio title and become the most successful team in the competition’s history.

In what was a repeat of last year’s final, goals from Andrea Petagna, Michael Fabbro and Alessandro Mastalli completed a come from behind 3-1 victory for the Rossoneri youth-team at the Stadio dei Pini.

It avenges last year’s final defeat to the same opposition and represents Coach Filipo Inzaghi’s first trophy in his brief career since retiring from playing.

Club Vice-president Adriano Galliani paid tribute to the work put in by the players and coaching staff.

“I’m feeling incredible joy,” he said. “I’m really happy for the boys, for Pippo and for all of Milan.

“It is a team that gives absolutely everything for their Coach.”

It is the ninth time the club have won the tournament outright.

See the latest Serie A predictions and betting tips with