Tuesday January 6 2015
Strama: 'Why was official over-ruled?'

Andrea Stramaccioni was livid after Udinese’s 1-0 defeat to Roma. “What is the goal-line referee actually for?”

The Friulani were beaten by an early Davide Astori ‘phantom goal’, as the official claimed the ball had not completely crossed the line only to be over-ruled by referee Marco Guida.

The hosts also had penalty appeals for an Urby Emanuelson tackle on Panagiotis Kone.

“In all honesty, from the bench we already had the feeling that was a penalty,” Coach Stramaccioni told Sport Mediaset.

“We were very unlucky with incidents today, but I cannot complain about the overall performance against the best team in Italy – along with Juventus.

“When it comes to issues of whether the ball as crossed over or not, I have to ask what is the goal-line referee actually for? That is the basis of my complaint.

“The result is irrelevant, as Roma won and we accept the verdict on the field. The problem here is one of principle: if the goal-line referees, who are there to judge if a ball has crossed the line, are then over-ruled by the referee, then what is the point of their presence?”

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports for just £9.99 per month including live LaLiga, Eredivisie, Scottish Cup Football and more. Visit: