Tuesday April 14 2015
Raggi: 'It wasn't a penalty'

Andrea Raggi felt it wasn’t a Juventus penalty, but assured the 1-0 defeat “can be overturned” by Monaco.

The first leg was decided by the Arturo Vidal spot-kick, though Ricardo Carvalho appeared to trip Alvaro Morata just outside the box.

“Seeing the incident, it’s outside the area. You could say it continues inside, but it is without doubt a foul. The referee had only a few seconds to decide,” defender Raggi told Sky Sport Italia.

“The thing we need to take out of here with confidence is the performance and realising 1-0 is a very open result that can be overturned.”

Italy Coach Antonio Conte was in the stands, so can Raggi think about an Azzurri call-up?

“Of course any Italian player would love to be called up, but that’s another issue. I arrived with Monaco in the second division, aware of their ambitions and it is satisfying to be here as captain at the age of 30.

“This is my third year here, I’ve become one of the oldest, but the captain is Jeremy Toulalan and I am happy to be the vice-captain.”

Raggi was asked about one of his team-mates at Monaco, young striker Anthony Martial.
“Martial has absolutely everything to become a real superstar.”