Wednesday May 20 2015
Official: Genoa denied UEFA licence

The FIGC has released its list of clubs which have been granted a UEFA licence, with Genoa not among the names.

The Grifone were denied a licence to play in European competition next season, after missing a deadline and failing to name a suitable stadium to play in.

Stadio Luigi Ferraris needs redevelopment work to meet UEFA standards, and while Sampdoria will play at Sassuolo’s Mapei Stadium, their city rivals have given no alternative.

The club appealed the decision, but it appears that has been unsuccessful as they are not on the list of clubs granted a licence.

The Federation announced that 13 clubs had been granted a licence following “a decision of the first and secondary licensing board.”

The decision means that seventh place could now offer entry to the Europa League, with Sampdoria, Inter and Torino all in with a chance of attaining that spot with two games to go.

The clubs granted a UEFA licence are Atalanta, Fiorentina, Inter, Juventus, Lazio, Milan, Napoli, Roma, Sampdoria, Sassuolo, Torino, Udinese and Verona.