Frosinone may be the third biggest club of the Italian central region of Lazio, but unlike the two Rome giants, the Canarini’s history is modest – their promotion to the top flight in 2015 was the first in their history. They have won four national titles: two in Serie C (1987, 2003) and a pair of Serie D crowns (1966, 1971).

Frosinone Calcio were initially formed under the guise of Union Sportive Frusante in 1912. Further changes to Bellator Frusinate (1930) and Sporting Club Frosinone (1963) followed before eventually settling on their current title in 1990 following a betting scandal and eventual bankruptcy.

They have enjoyed a traditional regional rivalry with Latina Calcio in the third tier, where they spent the majority of their existence until 2006. Their first promotion to Serie B saw the club consolidate in the second flight, where they played six of the following 10 seasons.

Rookie boss Roberto Stellone took the reins in the summer of 2012, and led the club from Serie C1 to the top flight in three years and with back-to-back promotions.

The town of Frosinone, located approximately 75km south of Rome and nestled between the Ernici and Lepini mountain ranges, has a population of only 48,000 and was one of the smallest clubs ever to compete in Italy’s top level.

Perhaps unsurprisingly they were immediately relegated, but the Canarini are now back for a second tilt at the top flight.