Sunday December 11 2011
Nominees for 'Bidone d'Oro' award

The 11 candidates for the Bidone d’Oro have been announced – the award for the worst player of the year.

The tongue-in-cheek trophy is voted for by fans and given by the Radio 2 show Catersport.

Nominees for this edition are Amauri (Juventus/Parma), Felipe Melo (Juventus), Eduardo (Genoa), Milos Krasic (Juventus), Diego Milito (Inter), Adrian Mutu (Cesena), Santiago Silva (Fiorentina), Mauro Zarate (Lazio/Inter), Luca Toni (Juventus) and Diego Forlan (Inter).

It translates as ‘Golden Bin,’ a play on the Ballon d’Or, and previous winners include Adriano and Ricardo Quaresma.

Although nominally as worst player of the year, ‘Bidone’ also refers to the worst deal for a star name.

This is why the likes of Amauri and Forlan are included, as the former hasn’t featured at all for Juventus this season, while Inter only later discovered the latter was ineligible for the Champions League.