Monday January 23 2012
Oscar del Calcio winners announced

Italy’s annual Oscar del Calcio awards have been held this evening, with Milan dominating the proceedings.

There were nine categories awarded in the 15th edition of Serie A’s annual Player of the Year awards held in Milan, with the winners chosen from a confirmed list of nominees announced in December. The winner of Best Player then goes to one of the winners of Best Italian and Best Foreign Player.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic scooped the Best Foreign Player and Best Player of 2011 awards, whilst Massimiliano Allegri was chosen as the year’s Best Coach.

Thiago Silva was handed the Best Defender prize whilst Stephan El Shaarawy, also now at Milan, was awarded the Best Serie B Player of 2011. The Rossoneri also had the most players in the Team of the Year.

Samir Handanovic picked up the Best Goalkeeper award to avoid a Diavolo clean sweep, whilst Udinese were awarded Best Club and Nicola Rizzoli Best Referee.

Fabio Cannavaro and Alessandro Del Piero picked up lifetime achievement awards whilst Fabio Capello was given a special Critics Award.

Oscar del Calcio winners

Best Coach: Massimiliano Allegri

Runners up: Francesco Guidolin, Walter Mazzarri

Best Goalkeeper: Samir Handanovic

Runners up: Christian Abbiati, Morgan De Sanctis

Best Defender: Thiago Silva

Runners up: Andrea Barzagli, Mehdi Benatia

Best Foreigner: Zlatan Ibrahimovic also awarded Best Player

Runners up: Edinson Cavani, Samuel Eto’o

Best Referee: Nicola Rizzoli

Runners up: Paolo Tagliavento, Paolo Valeri

Best Club: Udinese

Most Points: Milan (80)

Highest Goalscorer: Edinson Cavani (28)

Team of the Year: Handanovic; Maggio, Thiago Silva, Nesta (tied with Ranocchia), Armero; Hamsik, Boateng, Motta (tied with Marchisio; Ibrahimovic, Cavani, Di Natale