Friday January 7 2011
Messi wins FIFA Ballon d'Or

Argentina and Barcelona ace Lionel Messi has been named as 2010's Player of the Year at the Ballon d'Or awards.

Messi beat club colleagues Andres Iniesta and Xavi who made up the three-man shortlist after they won the World Cup with Spain.

The 23-year-old, who scored an impressive 60 goals for club and country last year, thus wins the inaugural FIFA Ballon d'Or honour.

The prize was created after FIFA's World Player of the Year award was merged with France Football's historic Ballon d'Or accolade.

Votes were cast by global journalists, international Coaches and players who captain their respective national sides.

The winners of the other categories were as follows…

FIFA Women's World Player of the Year: Marta

FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men's Football: Jose Mourinho

FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women's Football: Silvia Neid

FIFA FIFPro World XI of 2010: Casillas; Maicon, Pique, Lucio, Puyol; Xavi, Sneijder, Iniesta; Cristiano Ronaldo, Villa, Messi

FIFA Puskas Award for best goal: Hamit Altintop (Turkey) v Kazakhstan

FIFA Fair Play Award: Haiti Under-17 women's team

FIFA Presidential Award: Archbishop Desmond Tutu

See the latest Serie A predictions and betting tips with