Sunday May 13 2018
Juventus Seven-Up

Juventus have won the Scudetto for a record-breaking seventh season in a row, one of the longest winning runs in Europe.

The Bianconeri drew 0-0 with Roma this evening to mathematically take the Serie A title, click here for a match report.

Juve’s latest triumph means they extend their own record-breaking run of consecutive titles, with the previous record standing at five.

The Old Lady took five in a row in the 1930s, with Il Grande Torino achieving the same feat in the 1940s before the entire team was tragically killed in the Superga disaster.

Inter also won five Scudetti on the spin, though the 2005-06 title was awarded to them as part of the Calciopoli scandal after Roberto Mancini’s men had initially finished third.

Juventus’ latest win means they have one of the longest title winning streaks in Europe, with BATE Borisov currently way out in front on 12.

Basel’s eight season winning run came to an end this season when Young Boys took the Swiss title, while Olympiakos’ record of seven was halted by AEK Athens.

That means the Bianconeri are tied for second place in terms of the longest league winning runs in Europe.
Celtic won the Scottish Premiership for a seventh season in a row this year, while Ludogorets Razgrad achieved the same feat in Bulgaria.

In the Welsh Premier League, The New Saints have also won the title for seven years in a row.

Juventus still have some way to go to get close to Europe’s longest-ever winning run, which is shared by Lincoln Red Imps and Skonto Riga.

Lincoln won the Gibraltarian league for 14 seasons in a row between 2002-03 and 2015-16, while Skonto achieved the same feat in Latvia between 1991 and 2004.

Retaining the Scudetto also means the Bianconeri move into joint-sixth in terms of official league titles.

Their total of 34 matches Belgian side Anderlecht, lifting them above both Sparta Prague and Ajax.

Scottish side Rangers currently hold the European record for most titles on 54, followed by Linfield [52], Celtic [49], Olympiakos [44] and Benfica [36].

Juventus themselves count 36 Scudetti, as the club includes the 2004-05 and 2005-06 titles which were revoked in the Calciopoli scandal.