Friday August 10 2018
Serie B: Only 19 teams?

Serie B could go ahead with only 19 teams this season, with still no fixture list drawn up.

The fixtures were supposed to have been released on July 31, but appeals and counter-claims have left Serie B in disarray, just two weeks before its scheduled opening day.

Consequently, the 19 clubs who have already registered to play in Serie B 2018-19 have asked for the competition to proceed, even with three teams short.

“We’ve told the FIGC that our clubs don’t want there to be readmissions,” Lega Serie B chief Mauro Balata told reporters.

“We believe this request can be accepted for several reasons, especially for the fact that this initiative would have no consequences on any other Leagues.

“Therefore, we ask to reduce the number of clubs without any readmissions, without affecting the mechanism of promotions and relegations, while not impacting on other Leagues.”

Both Bari and Cesena have already been declared bankrupt, Avellino have been excluded for financial reasons and any of Novara, Virtus Entella, Ternana and Pro Vercelli could still have their relegations scrapped.

Furthermore, Catania – who were denied promotion to Serie B – may yet be given a reprieve.

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports.