NEWS
Saturday August 24 2019
Probable line-ups: Fiorentina-Napoli

Fiorentina should use Federico Chiesa, Kevin-Prince Boateng and Riccardo Sottil against Napoli tonight, who move Dries Mertens and Fabian Ruiz.

It kicks off at 19.45 UK time (18.45 GMT, 20.45 CET), click here for a match preview.

The Viola have stuttered in pre-season under new Coach Vincenzo Montella and President Rocco Commisso, fighting back to beat Monza 3-1 in the Coppa Italia last week.

Jacob Rasmussen is injured, with Franck Ribery only fit for a spot on the bench after arriving to great fanfare this week.

It means 20-year-old Riccardo Sottil, the son of former Fiorentina and Udinese defender Andrea, is again in the trident attack with Chiesa and Boateng.

Giovanni Simeone is benched awaiting a transfer and Dusan Vlahovic is certainly one to watch after his Coppa Italia brace as a late substitute against Monza.

Problems also remain in defence, where Pol Lirola is not 100 per cent fit and Cristiano Biraghi should again be dropped while negotiations continue for a move to Inter, leaving only 20-year-old Aleksa Terzic at left-back.

Napoli have considerably more strength in depth, despite missing injured Arkadiusz Milik, so Mertens leads with support from Jose Callejon, Lorenzo Insigne and Fabian Ruiz in a more advanced role.

That allows Allan and Piotr Zielinski to act as holding midfielders in a 4-2-3-1 formation.

Kostas Manolas and Giovanni Di Lorenzo are likely to start for their new club, but Mario Rui is the favourite ahead of Faouzi Ghoulam on the left side of defence.

Probable line-ups

Fiorentina: Dragowski; Lirola, Milenkovic, Pezzella, Terzic; Pulgar, Badelj, Benassi; Chiesa, Boateng, Sottil

Napoli: Meret; Di Lorenzo, Manolas, Koulibaly, Mario Rui; Allan, Zielinski; Callejon, Fabian Ruiz, Insigne; Mertens