Sunday December 22 2013
Pioli: 'It's not all my fault'

Stefano Pioli admits today’s game with Genoa could be his last for Bologna, but “I am not the only person responsible.”

It kicks off at 11.30 GMT at the Stadio Dall’Ara, click here for a match preview.

There are consistent reports the Coach will be fired if he fails to win this tie, as Roberto Baggio and Gianfranco Zola are among those linked with the job.

“The situation that has been created is certainly delicate and weighs heavily on us, but it absolutely can be recovered both looking at our position in the table and the performances,” said Pioli in his Press conference.

“I am aware of the situation and I’m the first person to be held responsible for it, but I am not the only one.

“I am a professional who is accustomed to fighting alongside the team put at my disposal. I try every day to get the best out of my players.

“This week we had a meeting with the fans, who I always considered to be an added value and I thank them for their support. However, they sent a clear message: their support is no longer unconditional. It depends on our performances.

“We must therefore play up to our full potential. We must play with grit, determination, generosity, heart and pride. This is my credo and the values I always gave to my teams.

“We know that this game is not just important, it is much more than that. To end the year on just 12 points would make for a sorry Christmas. We cannot change the past, but we are capable of changing what happens from now on.

“As for me, if my experience at Bologna ends after the game, after the end of the season or after my contract expires, it changes nothing. I worked with great seriousness, great conviction and great effort every single day. I always fought hard for what I do and will continue to fight hard.”

Diego Perez is back in the Bologna squad, but Frederik Sorensen and Niccolo Cherubin miss out.

Bologna squad for Genoa: Agliardi, Curci, Stojanovic; Antonsson, Cech, Crespo, Garics, Mantovani, Morleo, Natali, Radakovic; Della Rocca, Kone, Krhin, Laxalt, Pazienza, Perez; Acquafresca, Bianchi, Christodoulopoulos, Cristaldo, Diamanti, Moscardelli