Saturday January 18 2014
Mazzarri: 'Inter deserved more'

Walter Mazzarri is looking forward to facing Gian Piero Gasperini’s Genoa and assures Inter were “never dominated” this season.

The fixture is due to kick off at Marassi on Sunday at 14.00 GMT, though there are fears of flash floods in the area. Click here for a match preview.

“I have to say that so far we’ve only had three defeats in all competition, but the team was never dominated this season. We’ve always been the better side in terms of football and scoring opportunities,” argued the Coach in his Press conference.

“It has been a good journey so far. I didn’t like some of the draws, as with a few more points we’d be having an excellent campaign.”

The Nerazzurri have gone off the boil recently, scraping a draw with Chievo after a defeat to Lazio and Coppa Italia exit at the hands of Udinese.

“I hope the team can make another step forward in fitness terms tomorrow. It won’t be easy, as we are facing a strong side that is organised tactically.

“We’ll play our football, trying to hurt Genoa when we get the opportunities. I don’t give up, as we are always Inter.”

Genoa Coach Gasperini stirred up controversy yesterday when pointing out Inter’s success only began after the Calciopoli scandal “destroyed Juventus.”

“It’s a personal opinion, but in my view Inter’s victories are there for all to see,” replied Mazzarri.

The transfer strategy was also discussed with reports Andrea Ranocchia, Ishak Belfodil and Fredy Guarin are on their way out.

“Ranocchia is a serious professional who always trained hard, but I have to make my choices when evaluating many different situations.

“We are trying to build a more technically-gifted team, if possible, as anyone who arrives must be functional to our style of football.”

Alvaro Pereira has also been left out ahead of his move to Sao Paulo.

Inter squad for Genoa: Handanovic, Carrizo, Castellazzi; Jonathan, Zanetti, Juan Jesus, Andreolli, Campagnaro, Ranocchia, Samuel, Rolando, Nagatomo; Kovacic, Alvarez, Guarin, Mudingayi, Kuzmanovic, Cambiasso, Taider; Palacio, Botta, Milito