Thursday December 23 2010
Juve take back Boniek star

Juventus have decided to re-assign the Hall of Fame star controversially handed to Zibi Boniek following protests from disgruntled fans.

The Pole was one of 50 former players to be recognised as legends as part of the Accendi Una Stella – light up a star – campaign designed for use in their new stadium.

However, a large section of the Bianconeri support disapproved of his inclusion given his critical stance of Juventus since leaving the club in the 1980s.

After months of protests and online petitions, the Turin giants have decided to suspended the star awarded to the attacking sensation.

They will now ask fans to cast their vote again for Boniek's star from a shortlist of just over 50 players, who are all named below.

Although former Roma player Boniek is again included as an option, he's unlikely to get his star back.

Speaking in December, Boniek insisted that he deserved such recognition.

"I apparently showed little gratitude, but to who? I always gave everything on the pitch for Juventus. I never saved myself for anything," he stated.

"President Andrea Agnelli sent me a letter asking me to be one of the stars at the new stadium and I am honoured.

"It's not like everyone who ever played for Juventus should also have to be a Juventus fan.

"It's great also to be faced with different opinions. I know what I did for Juventus and, if the fans don't want me in the new ground, I'll just say that you can't erase history."

The players up for the 50th star

Roberto Anzolin

Giancarlo Bercellino I

Luigi Bertolini

Alessandro Birindelli

Zibigniew Boniek

Massimo Bonini

Fabio Cannavaro

Massimo Carrera

Ernesto Castano

Umberto Colombo

Giuseppe Corradi

Edgar Davids

Luigi De Agostini

Teobaldo Depertini

Flavio Emoli

Pietro Fanna

Luciano Favero

Giovanni Ferrari

Rino Ferrario

Alfredo Foni

Guglielmo Gabetto

Roberto Galia

Bruno Garzena

Adolfo Gori

Helmut Haller

Filippo Inzaghi

Mark Iuliano

Vladimir Jugovic

Michael Laudrup

Gianfranco Leoncini

Ugo Locatelli

Sergio Manente

Giampietro Marchetti

Giancarlo Marocchi

Massimo Mauro

Giampaolo Menichelli

Luis Monti

Francesco Morini

Ermes Muccinelli

Federico Munerati

Bruno Nicolè

Karl Aage Praest

Benito Sarti

Vittorio Sentimenti III

Paulo Sousa

Luciano Spinosi

Gino Stacchini

Lilian Ulien Thuram

Igor Tudor

Mario Varglien I

Giovanni Varglien II

Giovanni Viola

Marcelo Danubio Zalayeta

Gianluca Zambrotta

Watch Serie A live in the UK on Premier Sports for just £9.99 per month including live LaLiga, Eredivisie, Scottish Cup Football and more. Visit: