Friday January 7 2011
Mou wins it for Inter

Inter's 2010 success has been recognised at the Ballon d'Or gala after Jose Mourinho was named best Coach and three Nerazzurri players made it into the dream team.

The event in Zurich this evening was the first since the FIFA World Player of the Year award and France Football's Ballon d'Or honour were combined.

Although all eyes were on who would be crowned as the planet's top player for 2010 - won by Barcelona's Lionel Messi - there were other categories which allowed Inter to be represented after Wesley Sneijder wasn't short-listed for the ultimate prize.

Mourinho, after leading the Italian giants to an unprecedented treble last term before heading to Real Madrid, became the first man to win the newly introduced coaching award.

The Special One beat Barcelona boss Pep Guardiola and Spanish national tactician Vicente Del Bosque to the honour.

In the FIFA/FIFPro World XI category, Douglas Maicon, Lucio and Sneijder all made it into the team which was dominated by Barcelona players.

The full line-up: Casillas (Real Madrid); Maicon (Inter), Lucio (Inter), Pique (Barcelona), Puyol (Barcelona); Sneijder (Inter), Xavi (Barcelona), Iniesta (Barcelona); Messi (Barcelona), Villa (Barcelona), Ronaldo (Real Madrid).